Why Does Granola Have Gluten? | Ocean Ranch Organics

Why Does Granola Have Gluten?

Image about granola, oats and whether it is gluten-free

Why does granola have gluten?

What makes a gluten free granola actually gluten free?

These are questions we used to answer on the daily while sampling our products at events and grocery stores. Here’s a little information we think could be helpful to answer these questions.

Gluten is a protein generally found in wheat, barley, rye, and triticale. It acts as a glue that helps these foods keep their shape. Most people can eat gluten without any issues, but for some it can cause very serious problems.

Most granola contains oats and oats in their pure form are gluten free. However, because most oats are processed in facilities that are producing grains like wheat, barley, and rye, they can contain traces of gluten. According to Healthline, people with celiac disease can eat 50-100 grams of pure oats per day without any adverse effects.

Of course, we always recommend eating oats that are certified gluten free, so that they are processed in facilities that do not process other products containing gluten. We process our certified gluten free granola in a gluten free facility. That means that we do not make any products in a facility that could possibly have ingredients that contain gluten.

Oats can add diversity and offer many nutritional benefits to a gluten free diet. They are among the healthiest grains on earth. According to WebMD, eating oats is linked to a 7% drop on average in LDL cholesterol. It also promotes healthy bacteria in your gut, contains antioxidants, lowers blood sugar levels, and so much more! Eating gluten free oatmeal or gluten free granola in the morning can help you feel fuller for longer which can aid in weight loss.